Statuses

Make Ahead Day

In Cooking, Knitting, Life, Spinning on April 14, 2010 by Queue

I’m not subbing today, so I planned our meals for the next week and went to the store.  When I got home I proceeded to make two dinners simultaneously, neither of which are for dinner tonight.  I got my receipts this week from Smitten Kitchen. I love this blog – she does great recipes and her photography is stellar!  I want light that good in my kitchen.

Today I made Spinach and Cheese Strata, which needs to chill overnight before cooking anyway, and Stuffed Cabbage Rolls which I intend to bag and freeze for sometime next week.  Tonight we’re having Tomato and Sausage Risotto.

It was a fair bit of prep work – though not as labor intensive as some things I love to cook.  But now I’ll have two nights of reheat dinners, basically.  Tomorrow is another subbing day, so the strata will be an easy dinner after a longish day.  Friday is birthday dinner for the boy, so we’re having (by request) fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and hopefully asparagus.  The asparagus at the store today was HUGE and a bit past its “expiration date” if you know what I mean.  Ew.  And to top all that oh so healthy food off, I’m making him a Cappuccino Fudge Cheesecake.

There may have also been some knitting.  I started spinning a 4 oz. braid on Saturday, finished the singles on Sunday, plied, soaked, and dried on Monday.  The braid was three large sections of color.  I split each color into sixths and spun them in such an order than when I wound the singles on my ball winder and plied starting from the two ends and working towards the middle I’d get stripes.  Then I proceeded to cast on a hat.  I’m working a top down toboggan type loosely based on Brooklyntweed’s Turn a Square.  I’m going to keep going ’til I run out of yarn, so this hat may have a sizeable “cuff.”

Leave a Reply

