Quotes

Experiments in Soda

So I got it in my head a while back that I wanted to make homemade ginger ale and root beer.  I poked around the net for a while and found several similar sets of directions for “brewing” soda at home.  Yup, brewing.  I gave it a try.  I followed a recipe for ginger ale.  It wasn’t terrible, though I found it fairly weak in the flavor department.  What I didn’t like was that if I wanted to keep it around I’d be going through that process about once a week as over time the yeast would keep making a little alcohol.  I’m not great at incorporating new chores into my routine, and with mediocre results I wasn’t motivated to try.

Then it dawned on me the other day – Italian soda would be easy.  Just add syrup to some kind of fizzy water and go.  So I’ve started making syrups from time to time – way less fussy and super quick.  A roughly 1 to 1 ratio of the liquid of my choice and some sugar in a pan on the stove for a minute or two and I was all set.  Give it a try – it’s pretty awesome!

So far I’ve tried:

Pappy’s Sassafrass Tea Concentrate (awesome root beer!!!)

Fresh Ginger steeped in boiling water (very nice, ginger teabags would work too)

A couple of pureed peaches (my little chopper left them a bit chunky, so the soda had floaties because I opted not to strain)

Bottle of Pom Wonderful straight up Pomegranate (not bad, but next time I’ll just buy a couple pomegranates and juice them, pasteurization changes the flavor a bit)

Nearly anything could work – any juice, tea, or infusion you like.  If you like it as much as we do, you too may be thinking about finding one of those old seltzer bottles and some CO2 cartridges.  Cheers!

Posted August 26, 2010 by Queue

Leave a Reply

